Home Page

Instrument

What's New

Research

Management

solidstate

 

Instrument Installation

Wednesday, June 1, 2005 (Day 1)
The 900 MHz Bruker NMR magnet has arrived to its new home at the M-40 building. Late night delivery adds to the “out-of-this-world” experience. John Ripmeester guards the magnet.

image 1 image 2 image 3 image 4

Thursday, June 2, 2005 (Day 2)
The temporary stand is replaced with a permanent one. The very enthusiastic installation team from Bruker BioSpin (left to right): Norbert Konieczny, Stan Woodman, Ken Barclay, Blaine Betzold, and Joerg Tischlev (Thomas Buser is away) Thank you all !

image 1 image 2 group image

Friday, June 3, 2005 (Day 3)
Rough pumping begins. The platform and the staircase are assembled. Many crates with auxiliary equipment are being unpacked. Jamie Bennett (SIMS NRC) is on the top of the things.

image 1 image 2 image 3

Saturday, June 4 – Monday, June 6, 2005
Assembly of the magnet continues. Rough and then turbo pumping continues. The helium line is being installed. The first 100 L of liquid He is delivered.

image 1 image 2 image 3

Tuesday, June 7, 2005 (Day 7)
Precooling of the magnet with liquid nitrogen begins. To ensure that the process is not interrupted overnight, two 250 L nitrogen dewars are connected together.

image 1 image 2

Wednesday, June 8, 2005 (Day 8)
Precooling with liquid nitrogen continues. About 700-800 L of liquid nitrogen is required daily for precooling – the advantage of having a big liquid nitrogen tank in-house. The nitrogen bath is filled with liquid nitrogen.

image 1 image 2

Thursday, June 9, 2005 (Day 9)
Precooling with liquid nitrogen continues. Auxiliary equipment and electrical power lines are being installed and tested.

image 2 im,age1

Tuesday, June 14, 2005 (Day 14)
Precooling with liquid nitrogen continues. The bulk of liquid He is starting to arrive in 500 L dewars. the first 1000 L is delivered today.

image1

Wednesday, June 15, 2005 (Day 15)
Cooling the magnet with liquid He – lots of clouds in the room! The Avance II console, the workstation and the probes (the Spectrometer !) have arrived.

image1 image2

Thursday, June 16, 2005 (Day 16)
Cooling and filling the helium bath with liquid He. Work continues on the electrical power lines.

image

Friday, June 17, 2005 (Day 17)
Energizing of the magnet begins!

image

Tuesday, June 21, 2005 (Day 21)
Charging of the magnet continues. The workstation is connected to the console.

image

Thursday, June 23, 2005 (Day 23)
The magnetic field is at 856 MHz. The first 1H NMR spectrum! The spectrum is for liquid water but looks very solid-state like.

image

Friday, June 24, 2005 (Day 24)
The magnetic field is at 885 MHz.

Saturday, June 25, 2005 (Day 25)
Our first training quench: Though heart-breaking (at only 4 MHz left to the field!), everything went without complications. The magnet was successfully kept from warming up and is being prepared for the second round of energizing. The pumpkin !

image1 image2

Sunday, June 26, 2005 (Day 26)
Back on track energizing the magnet.

Friday, July 1, 2005 (Day 31)
The magnetic field is back at 857 MHz. Happy Canada Day!

image1

Sunday, July 3, 2005 (Day 33)
The magnet is at field! Not only scientists get attracted by ultrahigh magnetic fields!

image of a deer

Sunday, July 10, 2005 (Day 40)
After three days of painstaking cryoshimming the line width in water has been reduced from 35 kHz to less than 2 Hz. Kudos to Klaus Michel (Bruker BioSpin, Germany)! During cryoshimming the coil temperature rises by a mere 0.01 K (from 1.99 K) - the perfect cryo-tide.

image 1 image 2 image 3

Saturday, July 16, 2005 (Day 46)
The first CP/MAS spectrum on our very own MAS probe (13C-31P)/1H 2.5 mm (the probe serial number is #1 !). Another probe delivered with the spectrometer is (15N-13C)/1H 3.2 mm MAS probe (also serial #1 !).

Thursday, July 21, 2005 (Day 51)
Even very big magnets require fine tuning! (flat around the magnet - Stan, Klaus and Ken) Today is the final day of the installation and we are eagerly entering the testing mode. The facility will be open for normal operations in early Fall 2005.

image 1 image 2 image 3